7th – 12th April 2010


New Delhi, India

The Commonwealth Writers’ Prize (CWP), London, is one of the world’s major literary prizes. It aims at promoting new voices, rewarding achievement, encouraging wider readership and greater literacy, thereby increasing appreciation of different cultures and building an understanding between them. Each year CWP travels to one of the Commonwealth countries to ensure that the vast literary talent, present in many parts of the Commonwealth reaches a wider audience outside their country of origin. This year the prestigious CWP will be judged and awarded in New Delhi. Siyahi is the creative programmer and organizer delivering the entire programme for CWP.

The final programme will bring regional winning writers from the Commonwealth regions (from Africa, the Caribbean & Canada, Europe and South Asia, South East Asia and South Pacific) and the Jury together for the concluding round of judging and a presentation ceremony for the winning overall Best Book and Best First Book. In addition to the final announcement of the winners, the contingent of writers and judges will also take part in a series of literary activities including public readings, outreach and community activities and evening receptions as part of the week long programme in New Delhi. CWP will also be an ideal start to the cultural activities in the country before the much awaited and much talked about Commonwealth Games 2010 at New Delhi in October 2010.

Last year’s winners of the overall Commonwealth Writers’ Prize are The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas (Best Book) and A Case of Exploding Mangoes by Mohammed Hanif (Best First Book). Previous winners of the overall CWP from India are A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth (Best Book 1994), The Thousand Faces of Night by Gita Hariharan (Best First Book 1993), and Red Earth, Pouring Rain by Vikram Chandra (1996). Books from India which won regional prizes are The Sari Shop by Rupa Bajwa (Best First Book 2005), The Blue Beadspread by Raj Kamal Jha (Best First Book 2000), Difficult Daughters by Manju Kapoor (Best First Book 1999), Love and Longing in Bombay by Vikram Chandra (Best Book 1998), A Strange and Sublime Address by Amit Choudhury (Best First Book 1992), The Great Indian Novel by Sashi Tharoor (Best Book 1990), The Trotter-Nama by Allan Sealy (Best First Book 1989) and Plans for Departure by Nayantara Sahgal (1987).