Rana Dasgupta awarded Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Solo

Love Reading – UK,13 April 2010


Rana Dasgupta awarded Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Solo

Rana Dasgupta’s second novel Solo has earned him the 2010 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize.

Solo by British-Indian author Rana Dasgupta has won the best book prize as part of the 2010 Commonwealth writer’s prize held in New Delhi, today.

He won 10,000 British Pounds and Australian writer Glenda Guest won 5,000 British Pounds for novel Siddon Rock, which was selected as the best first book.

The prize is in its 24th year and comprises winners from commonwealth regions, taking part in head-to-head debates in front of the panel of judges including chairman Honourable Justice Nicholas Hasluck.

Justice Hasluck said: “I am honoured to be involved in bringing these cultural insights of these stories to a truly international audience and enriching the fabric of the literary world.”

Solo is a novel depicting the life and adventures of a 100-year-old blind Bulgarian man on a quest for enlightenment. The character Ulrich explores a century of politics, violence and lost love.

Past winners of the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize include Salman Rushdie, Michael Ondaatje and Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche.

By Jade Caulfield