UK author wins Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Best Book,13 April 2010


UK author wins Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Best Book

Fourth Estate author Rana Dasgupta has won the 10,000 British Pounds for Best Book award at the 2010 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for her novel Solo.

Dasgupta beat five other titles in the South Asia and Europe category, and 23 others from all those nominated in the best book division.

The 5,000 British Pounds for Best First Book winner was by Australian author Glenda Guest for her novel Siddon Rock (Random House Australia).

Organised by the Commonwealth Foundation and supported by the Macquarie Group Foundation, the awards follow a week in New Delhi in which the eight finalists from different regions of the Commonwealth took part in a series of events while their books were judged.

Director of the Commonwealth Foundation and head of the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, Dr Mark Collins, said “The two books chosen by the judges are ones that take us on unexpected journeys and challenge our conventional assumptions.

“The Commonwealth Writers’ Prize leads the way in spotting new literary icons and promoting literacy as a way to empower people and improve life chances.”

The finalists were:

Best First Book: Adaobi Tricia Nwaubeni from Nigeria for I Do Not Come to You by Chance

Best Book:Mari Heese from South Africa for The Double Crown

Caribbean and Canada
Best First Book: Shandi Mitchell from Canada for Under This Unbroken Sky
Best Book: Michael Crummey from Canada for Galore