Mridula Koshy

Mridula Koshy is the author of If It Is Sweet, a collection of short stories, and a novel titled Not Only The Things That Have Happened. The book won the Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize (2009) and was shortlisted for the Vodafone Crossword Book Prize (2009). Her other books include Lost Boy and Bicycle Dreaming.



Lost Boy by Mridula Koshy

Last modified on 2019-10-18 10:15:47 GMT. 0 comments. Top.

Category: Literary Fiction
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers India
Rights: World rights available (excluding Indian subcontinent)
India Title: Not Only the Things that have Happened

A woman relinquishes her four-year-old son to tourists passing through town. Losing him, she loses the story of her future. A world away from her, the boy becomes a man without the story of his past. Decades on, the mother struggles on her deathbed to find the story that will release her from life; the son’s struggle is for the story that will allow him to live. Not Only the Things That Have Happened is a novel about the stories that make us and break us and then remake us. The novel takes place over a thirty-six hour period, travelling between far-flung places, characters, the past and the future. Time is a character here, revealing that though the story of our present is always told for us, the story of the past and the future is ours to tell.

The author: Mridula Koshy

Bicycle Dreaming by Mridula Koshy

Last modified on 2019-10-18 09:25:30 GMT. 0 comments. Top.

Category: Literary Fiction
Publisher: Speaking Tiger Books

From one birthday to the next, thirteen-year-old Noor watches as her family comes apart. Her father, Mohammad Saidullah, loses his job pedaling his bicycle door-to-door to collect household discards; he is forced to join the ranks of those rag pickers who work New Delhi’s landfills. And when Ameena Saidullah follows her son, Talib, in his exit from the family, Noor sees it as further evidence of her mother’s preference for the son over the daughter. Noor’s  own dream of riding a bicycle is complicated by her conflicted feelings about her father’s livelihood. Not until Noor falls for a boy from the lowest caste is she forced from her place on the sidelines to enter into the fray of her own story.



The author:  Mridula Koshy